Sam Houston State University, an NCAA Division I intercollegiate program, encourages athletes who want an opportunity to walk-on for any of the Bearkats' 17 sports teams.

The Bearkats field varsity sports teams in seven men's sports (baseball, basketball, football, golf, indoor and outdoor track and field/cross country) and 10 women's sports (basketball, bowling, golf, soccer, softball, tennis, volleyball and indoor and outdoor track and field/cross country).

Each sports program at Sam Houston State has differing needs and programs for walk-ons each year.

NCAA Gender Equity participation level requirements impact walk-on numbers for most men's sports.

In order to participate in any sport, you must:

  1. Be registered with the NCAA Eligibility Center.
  2. Have proof of insurance.
  3. Complete a Sam Houston State athletics physical form.
  4. Be cleared by SHSU's NCAA compliance officer, eligibility officer, head trainer and head coach.

For more information about walking on at Sam Houston State, please email walkon@shsu.edu

Sport Contact Phone Email
Baseball Lance Harvell 936.294.4435 ljh022@shsu.edu
Men's Basketball Chris Mudge 936.294.1748 cmudge@shsu.edu
Women's Basketball Anthony Anderson 936.294.3915 aqa001@shsu.edu
Football Brett Arnold 936.294.3530 bea021@shsu.edu
Golf (Men & Women) Brandt Kieschnick 936.294.1051 brandt@shsu.edu
Soccer Tom Brown 936.294.1244 bearkatsoccer@shsu.edu
Softball Garrett Valis 936.294.3920 gvalis@shsu.edu
Tennis Rob Hubbard 936.294.1744  rxh043@SHSU.EDU
Cross Country Jesse Parker 936.294.3127 jparker@shsu.edu
Track & Field Dave Self 936.294.3355 dself@shsu.edu
Volleyball Brenda Gray 936.294.1736 bgray@shsu.edu
Bowling Brad Hagen 936.294.3350 bkh003@shsu.edu
Trainers Dustin LeNorman 936.294.1710  dlenorman@shsu.edu