Football mm
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Brian Blalock/SHSU
Summer Wooden Bat League Action
Release: 06/17/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
After earning Sam Houston State its first Southland Conference championship since 1989 and advancing to the NCAA Baseball Championships regional finals, 11 Bearkats have scattered across the country to play in a variety of wooden-bat leagues this summer.

The Kats tied a Southland Conference record for most league victories in a season (24) and made their seventh appearance in the NCAA Baseball Championships, rolling up a 40-win overall mark.

Pitcher Cody Dickson, infielder Ryan O'Hearn and outfielder Luke Plucheck will playing for the Santa Barbara Foresters in the California Collegiate League.

Seven Bearkats will be competing in the Texas Collegiate League. Infielder Corey Toups, catcher Shea Pierce and pitchers Brandon Bergen and Andrew Godail will see action with the Brazos Valley Bombers. Infielder Jessie Plumlee will be in uniform for the Victoria Generals while pitcher Taylor Holt and infielder Ryan Farney will play for the Woodlands Strykers.

Pitcher Michael Burchett will play for the Brewster Whitecaps in the Cape Cod League.

DVD Store
Hall of Honor
Bearkat Champions Fund
More On
Matt Deggs takes over Bearkat program
Matt Deggs completes his coaching staff
Nationally-ranked wins at Minute Maid Park propel Kat baseball to national spotlight
Five SHSU baseball players on Southland 1990s All-Decade Team
Six Bearkats selected to Southland Conference All-Decade team for the 2000s
Bearkats named to Southland Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll
Enterprise Holdings presents Bearkat seniors with job interview tips
Sam Houston student-athletes spread Christmas spirit
Fabienne Gettwart
Position: Tennis
Class: Freshman
Presented by Villas on Sycamore
What do you enjoy most at women's soccer home games?
Free Food Friday Tailgates
Free admission to all Bearkat fans!
I am affiliated with team members
Halftime contests and prizes
Presented by State Farm
TFB Honorary Coach