The defending Southland Conference champion Sam Houston football team received more preseason national recognition Monday when four Bearkats were named to the 2012 College Sporting News Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) All-America squad.

The four players are listed among 100 student-athletes. Founded in 2001, College Sporting News is the largest and oldest news service solely devoted to publishing original content and other information of the FCS.

Tim Flanders, J. T. Cleveland and Darnell Taylor are first team selections. Richard Sincere is a second team honoree.

Flanders begins his junior season with 2,592 career rushing yards, just 97 away from becoming SHSU's all-time leading rusher. The Midwest City, Okla., product was Southland Conference "Player of the Year" in 2011.

Cleveland is a two-time All-Southland selection who led the Bearkat defensive line with 46 tackles including nine for losses as a junior. The senior from Baytown Lee has 95 career stops to his credit.

Taylor received Southland Conference "Defensive Player of the Year" in 2011 after leading SHSU's nationally-ranked defense with 128 tackles. The senior from Mesquite ranks No. 10 in all-time Bearkat tackles with a career mark of 236 stops.

Sincere was voted as Southland "Ofensive Player of the Year" as the Kats swept all three major football awards after a 14-1 season and an NCAA Division I National Championship game appearance. The Galveston Ball product has rolled up 1,959 yards and 19 touchdowns as an all-purpose player.

Five other Southland Conference players were listed on the preseason All-America squad including safety Jestin Love of Central Arkansas, wide receiver Cordell Roberson and defensive end Willie Jefferson of SFA and safety Malcolm Bronson and punt returner Darius Carey of McNeese State.

Sam Houston State's 2012 football season begins Saturday, Sept. 8, when the Bearkats play host to the University of Incarnate Word from San Antonio in a 6 p.m. game at Elliott T. Bowers Stadium.

Season tickets for Bearkat football are on sale now online at or at the SHSU athletic ticket office located in the Ron Mafrige Field House at Bowers Stadium. Ticket office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The ticket office telephone number is (936) 294-1729.

College Sporting News FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams


QB  DeNarius McGhee, Montana State
RB  Shakir Bell, Indiana State
RB  Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State
FB   Eric Breitenstein, Wofford
AP   Jordan Brown, Bryant
T     Aaron Adams, Eastern Kentucky
T     Evan Conrad, SE Missouri State
G     Malcolm Boyd, Liberty
G     Zach Brackusuthern Utah
C     Mike Sellers, The Citadel
TE   Colin Anderson, Furman
WR  Aaron Mellette, Elon.
WR  Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington
WR  Aaron Mellette, Elon

DE   Ben Obaseki, Indiana State
DE   Blake Oliaro, San Diego
DT   J.T. Cleveland, Sam Houston State
DT   Brent Russell, Georgia Southern
DL   Caraun Reid, Princeton
LB   Matt Evans, New Hampshire
LB   Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State
LB   Keith Pough, Howard
LB   Mike Niam, Wofford
CB   Marcus Williams, North Dakota State
CB   Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State
SS    Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State
FS    Kejuan Riley, Alabama State
DB   Charles James, Charleston Southern

KR   Kevin Fogg, Liberty
PR    Darius Drummonduth Carolina State
K      Zach Brown, Portland State
P       Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion
LS     Richard Wright, Liberty


QB   Brad Sorensenuthern Utah
RB   Terrance West, Towson
RB   Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky
FB    Kendall Gaskins, Richmond
AP    Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State
T      Blake Matthews, Norfolk State
T      Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky
G     Earl Watford, James Madison
G     Danny Kistler, Montana
C     Gavin Farruthern Utah
TE   Justin Perillo, Maine
WR Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State
WR Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State
WR Norman White, Villanova

DE  Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin
DE  Joseph LeBeau, Jackson State
DT  Zach Minter, Montana State
DT  Cody Larsenuthern Utah
DL  Marquis Jackson, Texas Southern
LB  Blake Peiffer, SE Missouri State
LB  Aaron Archie, Indiana State
LB  Wes Dothard, Chattanooga
LB  Jody Owens, Montana State
CB  Charles James, Charleston Southern
CB  B.W. Webb, William & Mary
SS   Colten Heagle , North Dakota State
FS   Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State
DB  Serge Kona, Duquesne

KR  Fabian Truss, Samford
PR  Terrence Lewis, Alcorn State
K    Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa
P     Patrick Murray, Fordham
LS  Mike Chocholousek, Charleston Southern


QB   Kurt Hess, Youngstown State
RB   Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State
RB   Andrew Pierce, Delaware
FB   Brian Barlow, James Madison
AP   Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona
T     Billy Turner, North Dakota State
T     Kadeem Williams, Albany.
G    Chris Howley, Maine
G     Ricky Archer, New Hampshire
C     FN Lutz, Indiana State
TE   Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard
WR Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin
WR Tyrone Walker, Illinois State
WR Lanny Funsten, Davidson

DE   Joshua Williams, Chattanooga
DE   Tyler Starruth Dakota, 
DT  Chris Burnette, Old Dominion
DT  Caraun Reid, Princeton
DL  Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech
LB  Evan Fierson, Illinois State
LB  Stephon Robertons, James Madison
LB  Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford
LB  Jawara Dudley, Stoney Brook
CB  Varmah Sonie, Northern Iowa
CB  B.W. Webb, William & Mary
SS  Jestin Love, Central Arkansas
FS  Jordan Dangerfield, Towson
DB  Justin Bell, Eastern Kentucky

KR  Fabian Truss, Samford
PR   Darius Carey, McNeese State
K     Kevin Robbuth Dakota
P    Cass Couey, The Citadel
LS   John Hubbard, Northern Iowa