Sam Houston State University's women's bowling team is one of 17 NCAA programs that have been recognized as a recipient of a 2011-12 National Tenpins Coaches Association All Scholars Team Award.

To be considered for team recognition from the NTCA, programs must have a cumulative team GPA of 3.2 for the 2011-2012 school year.

Other women's bowling programs so honored included

Fairleigh-Dickinson, Elmhurst College; Salem International, Maryland Eastern Shore, Sacred Heart, St. Francis (Pennsylvania), Adelphi, St. Francis (New York), New Jersey City, Monmouth, Alabama A&M, Nebraska, Long Island, Cheyney, Delaware State and Stephen F Austin State.

Four Bearkat bowlers were recognized as National Tenpin Coaches Association Academic Honorees for the 2011-12 season. The quarter included senior Dayna Galganski, sophomore Kimi Davidson, senior Lisa MacAllister and junior Michelle Secours.

"I can't be more proud of the amount of work, time, and dedication this whole team puts in off the lanes," Sam Houston head coach Brad Hagen said. "We strive to be the best as much in the classroom as our efforts show on the lanes and I believe it shows. Our team should be very proud of the accomplishment."

Sam Houston rolled up a 79-35 overall won-loss record during the 2011-12 season that included 46 victories over nationally ranked teams. The SHSU women's bowling team finished the year ranked No. 9 in NCAA Division I women's bowling and climbed as high as No. 5 during the season.