SAN ANTONIO – Sam Houston State men’s basketball head coach was named as one of 16 finalists for the 2018 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award by

Hooten, who just completed his eighth year at the helm of the Bearkats, led Sam Houston to the semifinals of the CIT and a 21-15 overall record, the team’s fourth 20-win season in the last five years. His 158 wins ranks third in all-time wins at the school and has led the Kats to at least the semifinals of the Southland Conference Tournament each of the last six seasons.

The award was presented during this weekend’s Final Four in San Antonio with Lipscomb’s Casey Alexander being named the winner after leading the Bison to their first-ever Atlantic Sun Tournament championship and first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

Hooten was the lone coach from the Southland Conference on the list of finalists and one of three coaches from the state of Texas.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007 while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who also display moral integrity off it as well.

The full list of finalists for the Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award indlude:

Casey Alexander – Lipscomb
John Beilein – Michigan
Tony Bennett – Virginia
Brad Brownell – Clemson
Scott Cross – UT Arlington
Jamie Dixon – TCU
Chris Holtmann – Ohio State
Jason Hooten – Sam Houston State
Mike Jones – Radford
LaVall Jordan – Butler
Chris Mack – Xavier
Bob Marlin – Louisiana
Matt McMahon – Murray State
Nate Oats – Buffalo
Ryan Odom – UMBC
Mark Schmidt – St. Bonaventure