Sam Houston offensive lineman Donald Jackson has been named to the 2012 College Sports Journal Football Championship Subdivision Freshman All-America team.

 The 6-2, 270 pound Bearkat from Kilgore started the final 11 games of the 2012 football season, leading lead Sam Houston State to the Southland Conference championship, victories over top ranked Big Sky Conference teams in the NCAA Division I playoffs and a second consecutive NCAA finals appearance.

The Bearkat offense rolled up a Southland Conference and Sam Houston school record 600 points during the 2012 season. Only one other FCS program has scored more in a single season.

The All-Freshman team was selected by a blue ribbon panel of FCS experts put together by College Sports Journal.

College Sports Journal


Quarterback John Robertson, Villanova
Quarterback Sawyer Kollmorgen, Northern Iowa
Quarterback Josh Woodrum, Liberty
Quarterback Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington
Running Back Luke Hagy, Cornell
Running Back Jake Hutson, Valparaiso
Running Back Ryan Heaston, Missouri State
Fullback Emmanuel Holder, Towson
Wide Receiver Sean Price, Appalachian State
Wide Receiver D.J. Ward, Stephen F. Austin
Tight End Joe Bowens, Tennessee State
Tight End Sam Rohr, Northern Iowa
Offensive Tackle Ben Curtis, Delaware
Offensive Tackle Derek Chancellor, South Dakota
Offensive Tackle Adam Pasnik, Albany
Offensive Tackle Ethan Wirth, Southern Illinois
Offensive Guard Josh Colville, North Dakota State
Offensive Guard Donald Jackson, Sam Houston State
Offensive Guard Sedale Young, Richmond
Offensive Guard Shaq Counts, Appalachian State
Center Eric Thoni, Furman
Center Zach Wilk, Cornell

Defensive End James Cowser, Southern Utah
Defensive End Damon Gresham-Chisholm, Howard
Defensive End Davante Harris, Appalachian State
Defensive End Michael Kozlakowski, Maine
Defensive End Jonathan Woodard, Central Arkansas
Defensive End Mark Thomas, The Citadel
Defensive End Connor Underwood, Indiana State
Defensive Tackle Daevonte Barnett, Wagner
Defensive Tackle Javon Hargrave, South Carolina State
Defensive Tackle Alex Mosley, James Madison
Defensive Tackle Brian Schaetz, North Dakota State
Linebacker Zak Browning, Southern Utah
Linebacker Alex Donnelly, Illinois State
Linebacker T.J. Lally, South Dakota State
Linebacker J.J. Raffelson, Western Illinois
Linebacker Luke Rhodes, William & Mary
Linebacker Elandon Roberts, Morgan State
Linebacker Jeff Williams, Delaware
Cornerback James Bradberry, Samford
Cornerback Marcelis Branch, Wagner
Cornerback Anthony Gaffney, Princeton
Cornerback Jermaine Hough, Jacksonville State
Cornerback Aaron Matthews, Hampton
Cornerback Ryan Smith, North Carolina Central
Safety Terrick Colston, Delaware State
Safety Taison Manu, Idaho State
Safety Mark Sewall, Indiana State
Safety Jordan Tonani, Eastern Washington