FRISCO, Texas – Representing the Sam Houston State men’s basketball team, senior guard Marcus Harris was named to the Southland’s 2018-19 Preseason All-Conference second team, announced by the league Tuesday.

Harris, who took a redshirt during the 2016-17 season due to NCAA transfer rules, had a fantastic opening season with the Bearkat squad after making the switch from San Diego. The lone returning starter, Harris made 30 starts in 34 appearances as a junior and averaged 9.4 points and 2.7 rebounds per game. He shot 30.4 percent from beyond the arc and averaged 77.9 percent from the foul line. Harris had 12 double-digit scoring games, 10 of which coming in SLC action.

“I am very happy for Marcus," head coach Jason Hooten said. “He knows that last year’s finish for he and the team is not what we all want. I know that he is working hard right now to be a better player and he is helping in every way possible for us to have a better team.”

Harris went off for a season-high 28 points against Abilene Christian, hitting 14-for-15 from the foul line in the game. He had a 27-point game against Houston Baptist and an impressive 23-point effort at Nicholls. He recorded the first double-double of his career against Hardin-Simmons, racking up 12 points and a season-high 10 rebounds in the victory.

Southland Conference Basketball Social Media Day for the 2018-19 season is set to take place at the Toyota Center in downtown Houston on Wednesday, Oct, 10 from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. Hooten and new women’s basketball head coach Ravon Justice are set to begin their segment at approximately 1 p.m.

For all the latest information on the Sam Houston State men’s basketball team, visit or follow @BearkatsMBB on Twitter.

First Team

Marlain Veal, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr., G*

Shannon Bogues, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., *

Kevon Harris, Stephen F. Austin, Jr., F*

TJ Holyfield, Stephen F. Austin, Jr., F*

Ishmael Lane, Northwestern State, Sr., F/C*

Second Team

Josh Ibarra, Houston Baptist, R-Sr., C

Jalone Friday, Abilene Christian, Jr., C

Josh Nzeakor, Lamar, Sr., F

Jaren Lewis, Abilene Christian, Sr., F

Marcus Harris, Sam Houston State, Sr., G

*- Automatic Selection, 2017-18 All-Conference Team Member