Live Stats

COLLEGE STATION – The Sam Houston State women’s tennis team is competing against the top collegiate players in the state at the ITA Regional Championships at the George P. Mitchell Tennis Center Thursday through Sunday.

Junior Sahaja Yamalapalli and senior Lusine Chobanyan won their first two matches to advance to the third round of the elimination bracket Friday. Yamalapalli will face Olivia Peet of Texas Tech at 1:30 p.m., and Chobanyan will face Jessica Anzo of Texas A&M at the same time.

Junior Karla De La Luz Montalvo, senior Dena Nicolaou and sophomore Isidora Zivkovic all won their opening round matches Thursday as well but each fell in the second round.

Sophomore Petra Kaszas and junior Roos Gerritsen both won their consolation match to advance to play again Friday in singles.

In doubles, junior Roos Gerritsen and sophomore Isidora Zivkovic and the duo of Kaszas and Nicolaou also won their first-round matches.

The Bearkats have had some success at the ITA Regional. Last year, Chobanyan made Sam Houston women’s tennis history by rolling up five singles victories and advancing to the consolation finals, becoming the first Bearkat to accomplish that feat.

Doubles action resumes Friday at 8:30 a.m. and singles play continues at 11.

Here are Thursday’s results:

Elimination bracket                                                                    


Round 1

Karla De La Luz Montalvo defeated Ana Jolic of Lamar 6-1, 6-2

Lusine Chobanyan defeated Camille Townsend of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi 6-0, 6-4

Petra Kaszas lost to Nell Miller of Texas Tech 7-5, 6-0

Emma Goedkoop lost to Josefina Cassara of Texas State 1-6, 6-1, 7-5

Dena Nicolaou defeated Keegan McCain of UTSA 6-3, 6-3

Ryli Ruffin lost to Lisa Mays of Texas Tech 6-2, 6-0

Sahaja Yamalapalli defeated Nanaka Takeuchi of Texas-Arlington 6-3, 6-1

Roos Gerritsen lost to Momoka Horiguchi of Texas-Arlington 6-3, 7-5

Stevie Ybarra lost to Riley McQuaid of Texas A&M 6-0, 6-0

Isidora Zivkovic defeated Darinka Tiboldi of Stephen F. Austin 6-4, 6-3

Round 2

Karla De La Luz Montalvo lost to Katya Townsend of Texas A&M 6-2, 6-0

Lusine Chobanyan defeated Jelena Dordan of Abilene Christian 6-2, 6-3

Dena Nicolaou lost to Margaret Polk of TCU 1-6, 6-0, 6-3

Sahaja Yamalapalli defeated Maria Budin of Rice 6-0, 4-6, 6-1

Isidora Zivkovic lost to Sophie Gerits of Houston 4-6, 6-2, 6-4



Roos Gerritsen and Isidora Zivkovic defeated Valeria Montero and Ana Plastisa of UTRGV 8-5

Petra Kaszas and Dena Nicolaou defeated Jelena Dordan and Alejandra Landaluce of Incarnate Word 8-6

Emma Goedkoop and Karla De La Luz Montalvo lost to Lucia Natal and Carla Pons-Martorell of Texas-Arlington 8-4

Ryli Ruffin and Lusine Chobanyan lost to Kylee Kato and Jasmin Starr of UTSA 8-2


Consolation bracket


Petra Kaszas defeated Alejandra Landaluce of Incarnate Word 6-0, 6-2

Emma Goedkoop bye

Ryli Ruffin lost to Chacadyah Lewis of Texas State 7-6 (3), 7-5

Roos Gerritsen defeated Kylee Kato of UTSA 6-3, 6-3

Stevie Ybarra lost to Sofia Murcia of Texas State 6-4, 6-0