Travis Watson from the Southland Conference championship football team and 2012 league indoor pentathlon champion Morgan Davis have been named as Sam Houston State's representatives on the 2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year list.

The complete roll of 24 individuals who have been named as Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year was announced by the Southland league office Monday.

The Southland Conference annually recognizes the outstanding male and female student-athletes from each of the league's member institutions.

 Student-athletes must be a letter winner with a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and have completed at least two years of intercollegiate competition at the school from which he or she was nominated. The student-athletes were selected by their respective institution administrators.

The conference began selecting this award at the conclusion of the 1996-97 season.

Both Watson and Davis were named as "Student-Athletes of the Year" in their respective sports.

Watson, a political science major with a 3.44 grade-point average, was a finalist for the National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship and was selected as part of the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Director's Association Academic All-Star Team.

A native of Norman, Okla., he received his second consecutive first-team all-conference honor and played in all 15 games for the Bearkats' 2011 league champion football team that finished 14-1 and reached the national championship finals.

Watson was the starting center for a Bearkat offensive line that blocked for the nation's No. 2 scoring offense and No. 7 rushing offense. Sam Houston led Southland in rushing, scoring and passing efficiency and was second in total offense. Watson was part of an offensive line gave up only eight sacks in 11 games.

Davis was the Southland Conference indoor pentathlon champion and the runner-up outdoors in the women's heptathlon.

The senior from Waller compiled a 3.63 overall grade point average as a biology major and chemistry minor. She set or tied personal bests in each of her events at the indoor pentathlon and placed among the top three competitors in four of the eight heptathlon events. She earned All-Southland honors both at the indoor and outdoor meets.

Davis was recognized in March as the Southland Conference Indoor Track Women's Student-Athlete of the Year. She is a Dean's List student who has represented SHSU as a delegate to the NCAA Student-Athlete Advisory Council meeting at SMU in Dallas in October.

2011-12 Southland Conference Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Central Arkansas: Seth Allison (Football) and Katie McGregor (Softball)
Lamar: Matt Johnsen (Men's Cross Country/Track) and Lisa Topping (Soccer)
McNeese State: Ben Chretien (Men's Track & Field) and Caitlyn Baggett (Women's Basketball)
Nicholls State: Jordan Hanberry (Football) and Carolyn Noble (Soccer)
Northwestern State: Wade Williams (Football) and Kelee Grimes (Softball)
Sam Houston State: Travis Watson (Football) and Morgan Davis (Women's Track & Field)
Southeastern Louisiana: Jordan Hymel (Baseball) and Kyle MacIntosh (Soccer)
Stephen F. Austin: Jarid Scarafiotti (Baseball) and Kylie Louw (Soccer)
UT Arlington: David Subirats (Men's Tennis) and Courtney Zink (Softball)
UTSA: Phil Steinert (Men's Track & Field) and Kelsey Jewasko (Volleyball)
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi: Nathan Robinson (Men's Tennis) and Hannah Schwarz (Softball)
Texas State: Tyler Sibley (Baseball) and Kelsey Bernard (Soccer)