Season tickets for the 2012 Bearkat home football season are now on sale on-line and at the SHSU Athletic Ticket Office located in the Ron Mafrige Field House at Elliott T. Bowers Stadium.

For complete information on how to order tickets and the special benefits of purchasing Bearkat football season tickets at this time go to the special 2012 Bearkat Football Season Ticket page.

Season ticket holders are guaranteed seats for home games at Bowers Stadium, the "Battle of the Piney Woods" at Reliant Stadium Oct. 6 and post-season playoff games at Bowers. Season ticket holders also have first priority on tickets for road games at Baylor and Texas A&M.

For more information, please call the Sam Houston athletic ticket office at (936) 294-1729. Ticket office hours are 8 a.m. through 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Excitement is high as Sam Houston State returns 50 lettermen including 19 starters and five All-America players from last year's Southland Conference Championship and NCAA Division I national finalist team.

The 2011 Bearkats rolled up 14 consecutive victories to earn the program's first No. 1 Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) ranking and a berth in the NCAA Division I national championship game. The Kats were the only FCS team to go 11-0 through the regular season, earning the team the No. 1 seed in the Division I playoffs.

Sam Houston won the Southland Conference championship with a perfect 7-0 mark, out-scoring league opponents 308-67. The Bearkats led the Southland offensively in rushing, scoring and pass efficiency and defensively in rushing, total defense, scoring, pass efficiency and turnover margin.

Nationally, Sam Houston ranked No. 1 in rushing defense, No. 2 in scoring defense and turnover margin, No. 4 in scoring offense and pass efficiency defense and No. 6 in rushing offense.

Fourteen of the 18 Bearkats who earned All-Southland Conference selections and all three of the league's major award winners return for the 2012 season.

Running back Tim Flanders, wildkat Richard Sincere and safety Darnell Taylor were named, respectively, as Southland Conference "Player of the Year," "Offensive Player of the Year" and "Defensive Player of the Year."

Flanders was named to five All-America squads including American Football Coaches Association first team and Associated Press second team honors. He finished 7th in voting for the Walter Payton Award. Flanders enters his junior season 97 yards away from becoming Sam Houston's all-time rushing leader.

In two years, Flanders has rushed for 2,592 yards and 35 touchdowns. He has set 18 school records. His 24 touchdowns and 144 points in 2011 set a Southland season mark. His 2011 rushing total of 1,644 yards broke the old mark of 1,593 yards by Claude Mathis of Southwest Texas State set in 1997.

Sincere produced 1,464 all-purpose yards and scored 13 touchdowns, rushing for 979 yards in SHSU's "wildkat" formation and catching 26 passes for 485 yards as a wide receiver. Flanders and Sincere combined for 43 plays of more than 20 yards during the 2011 season.

Taylor also was named to five All-America squads last year and led the Southland's top defense with 128 tackles. He enters his senior season ranked No. 10 in Bearkat career tackles with 236 stops.

Defensive tackle J. T. Cleveland and safety Kenneth Jenkins also were 20111 first team all-league selections.  Cleveland was named to Phil Steele Magazine's All-America squad. Jenkins stands No. 9 in SHSU career stops (240) and was the second-leading tackler for the 2011 team with 240 including 16 for losses.

For complete information go to the special 2012 Bearkat Football Season Ticket page or call the SHSU athletic ticket office at (936) 294-1729. Ticket office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.