Safety Darnell Taylor, running back Timothy Flanders and defensive end Andrew Weaver have been named to the 2012 Associated Press NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision All-America squad.

Taylor is a first team selection while Flanders and Weaver both were named to the AP third team.

Taylor, a safety from Mesquite, has totaled 94 tackles, including 64 solos, two sacks, two interceptions, five pass breakups, two fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles in Sam Houston State's 13 games.

The Bearkats have reached the national semifinals for the second consecutive season, winning the Southland Conference with a 6-1 league mark and earning a number 5 national ranking with a 10-3 overall record.

Flanders, junior running back from Midwest City, Okla., is the Southland Conference "Player of the Year" for the second consecutive season.

He has been the Southland's leading rusher the past two years. The junior stands as Sam Houston's all-time rushing leader with 705 carries for 3,950 yards and 52 touchdowns. He has produced 24 100-yard rushing performances in his career, a total that includes a school record nine 100-yard games this year.

Weaver, junior from Waco High School, has been a key figure in the Bearkat squad that ranked No. 7 nationally in rush defense and No. 9 in total defense. Sam Houston led the Southland Conference in 2012 in rushing, scoring and total defense.

He has totaled 24 tackles including six for losses and four quarterback sacks.




Quarterback - Taylor Heinicke, sophomore, 6-foot-1, 195 pounds, Old Dominion.

Running backs - Miguel Maysonet, senior, 5-10, 205, Stony Brook; Eric Breitenstein, senior, 5-11, 230, Wofford.

Offensive linemen - Earl Watford, senior, 6-4, 290, James Madison; Mike Sellers, junior, 6-0, 295, The Citadel; Will Post, senior, 6-6, 295, Eastern Washington; Bill Turner, junior, 6-6, 300, North Dakota State; Roger Gaines, senior, 6-6, 320, Tennessee State.

Tight end - Kyle Juszczyk, senior, 6-3, 240, Harvard.

Receivers - Aaron Mellett, senior, 6-4, 220, Elon; Erik Lora, 5-10, 181, junior, Eastern Illinois.

All-purpose player - Walter Powell, junior, 6-0, 180, Murray State.

Kicker - Patrick Murray, senior, 5-7, 160, Fordham.


Linemen - Caleb Schreibeis, senior, 6-3, 252, Montana State; Colton Underwood, junior, 6-4, 255, Illinois State; Brent Russell, senior, 6-2, 300, Georgia Southern; Brandon Thurmond, senior, 6-2, 260, Arkansas-Pine Bluff.

Linebackers - Matt Evans, senior, 6-0, 228, New Hampshire; Jody Owens, senior, 6-0, 223, Montana State; Robert McCabe, senior, 6-2, 230, Georgetown.

Defensive backs - Darnell Taylor, senior, 6-0, 195, Sam Houston State; Marcus Williams, junior, 5-11, 194, North Dakota State; Jaquiski Tartt, sophomore, 6-1, 220, Samford; Cooper Taylor, senior, 6-5, 235, Richmond.

Punter - Sam Martin, senior, 6-1, 205, Appalachian State.



Quarterback - Casey Brockman, senior, Murray State.

Running backs - Zach Zenner, sophomore, South Dakota State; Deonte Williams, senior, Cal Poly.

Linemen - Terren Jones, senior, Alabama State; Michael Bamiro, junior, Stony Brook; Bryan Witzmann, junior, South Dakota State; J.C. Tretter, senior, Cornell; Corey Howard, senior, Central Arkansas.

Tight end - A.C. Leonard, sophomore, Tennessee State.

Receivers - Jordan Harris, junior, Bryant; Brandon Kaufman, junior, Eastern Washington.

All-purpose player - Dominic Dunn, senior, Northern Colorado.

Kicker - Colton Cook, junior, Southern Utah.


Linemen - Cody Larsen, senior, Southern Utah; Davis Tull, sophomore, Chattanooga; Mike Catapano, senior, Princeton; Zach Wagenmann, sophomore, Montana.

Linebackers - Jeremy Kimbrough, senior, Appalachian State; Stephon Robertson, junior, James Madison; Blake Peiffer, senior, Southeast Misssouri.

Defensive backs - Robert Alford, senior, Southeastern Louisiana; B.W. Webb, senior, William & Mary; Demetrius McCray, senior, Appalachian State; Johnny Towalid, senior, Indiana State.

Punter - Andy Wilder, junior, Northern Arizona.



Quarterback - Gavin McCarney, junior, Colgate.

Running backs - Shakir Bell, junior, Indiana State; Timothy Flanders, junior, Sam Houston State.

Linemen - Randy Richards, senior, Missouri State; Garrett Frye, sophomore, Georgia Southern; Aaron Adams, senior, Eastern Kentucky; Sean Davies, senior, UC Davis; Dakota Dozier, junior, Furman.

Tight end - Josh Hill, senior, Idaho State.

Receivers - Cordell Roberson, senior, Stephen F. Austin; Kevin Norrell, senior, Stony Brook.

All-purpose player - Tyler Varga, sophomore, Yale.

Kicker - Jimmy Pavel, senior, Eastern Washington.


Linemen - Caraun Reid, senior, Princeton; Ken Boatright, senior, Southern Illinois; Joseph Lebeau, senior, Jackson State; Andrew Weaver, junior, Sam Houston State.

Linebackers - Jordan Tripp, junior, Montana; Keith Pough, senior, Howard; Ian Sluss, senior, Portland State.

Defensive backs - Kejuan Riley, senior, Alabama State; Steven Godbolt, sophomore, Tennessee State; Ben Ericksen, senior, Illinois State; Caleb Schaffitzel, sophomore, Missouri State.

Punter - Bobby Wenzig, junior, Alabama State.