Article Image
Courtesy: Brian Blalock/SHSU
Tim Flanders voted 2011 Bearkat MVP
Release: 05/01/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
Tim Flanders has been named as "Most Valuable Player" for the 2011 Sam Houston State University football team.

The sophomore from Midwest City, Oklahoma, finished 7th in the voted for the Walter Payton Award and was named to six All-America squads  after leading the Bearkats to the NCAA Division I National Championship Game.

Flanders was voted as Southland Conference "Player of the Year" and as a first team all-league selection as the leading rusher for Sam Houston's unbeaten Southland champions.

Flanders holds 18 Sam Houston school records. He was a first team All-Southland Conference running back after leading the Southland Conference in rushing (109.6 yards per game) and scoring (144 points).

He was No. 2 in the league in all-purpose yards (137.2). Nationally, he ranked No. 4 in scoring, No. 16 in rushing and No. 24 in all-purpose yards.

Flanders was a three-time Southland offensive "player-of-the-week" winner (New Mexico, McNeese State and Texas State) ... set Southland Conference single season records for touchdowns (24), points (144) and rushing yards (1,644)

The "Most Valuable Player" awards for the 2011-12 sports season were announced at the annual Sam Houston State University spring athletic banquet at the Lowman Student Center Ballroom on April 23.

DVD Store
Hall of Honor
Bearkat Champions Fund
More On
All sports invited Nov. 22
Matt Dominguez and Timothy Flanders make 50 year All-SLC squad
Football manager earns U.S. citizenship
New football coach setting the bar high
Bearkats named to Southland Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll
Enterprise Holdings presents Bearkat seniors with job interview tips
Sam Houston student-athletes spread Christmas spirit
Zach Cabra
Class: Junior
Presented by Villas on Sycamore
How many years have you attended the Battle of the Piney Woods rivalry game vs. Stephen F. Austin in Houston?
My first game will be Saturday, November 1st!
Presented by State Farm
TFB Honorary Coach