The Sam Houston Bearkats scored seven runs in the first two innings and never looked back, beating Southeastern Louisiana 8-3 and winning the Southland Conference regular season title for the first time since 1989.

The Kats got going early, scoring three runs in the first inning. Kevin Miller got it going with a 2-run single, scoring Colt Atwood and Luke Plucheck. Miller then scored on a wild pitch for the third of the frame.

In the second, the Kats plated four more. Once again it was the top of the Bearkat order doing the damage. Atwood and Plucheck each singled and scored and Miller drove in his third run of the game. Jake Arrington had the big hit of the inning with a 2-run single.

It was all the run support starting pitcher Michael Oros needed. The senior went seven innings, allowing just two runs on five hits to pick up his seventh win of the season.

Brandon Bergen pitched the final two innings of relief for the Bearkats.

The Kats tacked on an extra run in the fifth inning on a single by Greg Olson to put the Kats up 8-0.

After the Lions scored three in the 8th, Bergen got Ben Hernandez to ground out to end the game and clinch the championship for the Bearkats.