Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
Baseball shutouts HBU 13-0
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
Release: 02/22/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Huntsville - Three freshmen pitchers, Cody Dickson, Caleb Smith and Matt Walker combined with sophomore Michael Burchett to shut out Houston Baptist as Sam Houston State won 13-0 in its 2011 home opener at Don Sanders Stadium Tuesday night.

Dickson, a lefthander from Mansfield, struck out seven and gave up only two hits in four innings. Smith, a hometown Huntsville product, struck out three Huskies in the next three innings. Walked and Burchett each pitched one inning.

The Bearkat pitching staff allowed the Huskies only five hits.

The victory upped Sam Houston's record to 2-2 while HBU stands 0-4. The shutout was the first for Sam Houston since a 10-0 home win over Texas Southern in the 30th game of the 2010 season.

Sam Houston totaled 14 hits with infielder Ryan Mooney, centerfielder Mark Hudson, right fielder Greg Olsen and catcher John Hale all picking up a pair of hits.

Second baseman Braeden Riley, Hudson, Olsen and second baseman Jesse Plumlee each posted a pair of RBIs.

The Bearkats will host Nebraska and Northern Colorado in the Sam Houston Invitational tournament .

DVD Store
Louisville Slugger
Free Admission Banner
More On GoBears.com
Colt Atwood closing in on career marks
Home of Bearkat baseball
Five SHSU baseball players on Southland 1990s All-Decade Team
Six Bearkats selected to Southland Conference All-Decade team for the 2000s
Nationally-ranked wins at Minute Maid Park propel Kat baseball to national spotlight
Anthony Azar earns Southland academic honor
Garrett Larson
Position: Pole Vault
Class: Junior
Presented by Villas on Sycamore
What is your favorite concessions snack at basketball games in Johnson Coliseum?
Hot Dog
Presented by State Farm
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?