Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
NCAA announces 16 regional baseball sites
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
Release: 05/27/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Related Links
The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced the 16 regional sites for the 66th annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship.
  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana - LSU (43-16)
  • Chapel Hill, North Carolina - North Carolina (44-14)
  • Charlottesville, Virginia - Virginia (38-17)
  • College Station, Texas - Texas A&M (42-16)
  • Columbia, South Carolina - South Carolina (40-17)
  • Coral Gables, Florida - Miami (FL) (36-20)
  • Eugene, Oregon - Oregon (42-16)
  • Gainesville, Florida - Florida (42-18)
  • Gary, Indiana - Purdue (44-12)
  • Houston - Rice (40-17)
  • Los Angeles - UCLA (41-14)
  • Palo Alto, California - Stanford (37-16)
  • Raleigh, North Carolina - North Carolina State (39-17)
  • Tallahassee, Florida - Florida State (43-15)
  • Tucson, Arizona - Arizona (37-17)
  • Waco, Texas - Baylor (44-14)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, all 16 host institutions have also been selected to the 64-team championship field.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 1 to Monday, June 4.

Three institutions are hosting for the 20th time or more as Florida State leads the list of schools with 29, Miami (FL) with 24, and LSU is hosting a regional for a 20th  time. Stanford is hosting for the 15th time and South Carolina is hosting for the 14th time. Florida (11th) and Rice (10th) are the only other institutions to host 10 or more times since the NCAA went to the regional format in 1975.

Texas A&M is hosting for the ninth time, while North Carolina is hosting a regional for the seventh time and Virginia for the sixth time. Arizona is hosting for the fifth time, Baylor and UCLA are hosting for a fourth time, and North Carolina St. for a third time. Rounding out the list and hosting for the first time are Purdue and Oregon.

Eight institutions (Florida, Florida St., North Carolina, Rice, Texas A&M, South Carolina, UCLA and Virginia) also hosted in 2011.

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at 11 a.m. Monday, May 28. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men's College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Tournament Championships Determined
Big 10 - Purdue #15
SEC - Mississippi State #29
ACC - Georgia Tech #36
Colonial - UNC-Wilmington #41
Big South - Coastal Carolina #43
Big East - St. Johns #57
Southern - Samford #58
Mountain West - New Mexico #62
Southland - UT-Arlington #63
Atlantic Sun - Belmont #71
Summit - Oral Roberts #89
Mid-American - Kent State - #90
American East - Stony Brook #98
Big 12 - Missouri #101
WAC - Fresno St #108
Conference USA - Ala-Birmingham #111
Patriot - Army #120
Sun Belt - La-Monroe #121
Ivy - Cornell #129
OVC - Austin Peay #135
Horizon - Valparaiso #143
MAAC - Manhattan #147
MEAC  - Bethune Cookman  #188
Missouri Valley -  Creighton #190
Atlantic 10 - Dayton #195
Northeast  - Sacred Heart  #212
SWACC - Prairie View A&M  #249

DVD Store
Louisville Slugger
Free Admission Banner
More On GoBears.com
Colt Atwood closing in on career marks
Home of Bearkat baseball
Five SHSU baseball players on Southland 1990s All-Decade Team
Six Bearkats selected to Southland Conference All-Decade team for the 2000s
Nationally-ranked wins at Minute Maid Park propel Kat baseball to national spotlight
Anthony Azar earns Southland academic honor
Sam Houston student-athletes spread Christmas spirit
Cory Avery
Position: Running Back
Class: Sophomore
Presented by Villas on Sycamore
Bearkat men's basketball had their first season in what year?
Presented by State Farm
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?