HUNTSVILLE Designated hitter Bobby Verbick went 2-for-4 with four RBIs including a home run to lead Sam Houston State to a 15-7 victory over Lamar in the finals of the Southland Conference post-season tournament at Don Sanders Stadium Saturday.


Sam Houston State (36-23) won the tournament for the second year in a row, earning another trip to the NCAA Division I baseball playoffs. The Bearkats reached the NCAA Regional finals at Ole Miss last year.


The Bearkats’ NCAA playoff first round opponent and regional site will be announced Monday on ESPN.


Verbick, who posted 10 RBIs and two home runs in Sam Houston’s four tournament games, was named as SLC Tournament “Most Valuable Player.”


The Bearkats, who totaled 17 hits in the game, broke open a 1-1 tie with six runs in the sixth inning.


Shortstop Ryan Weber went 4-for-5 with 3 RBIs and catcher Heath Pugh was 3-for-4 with three RBIs.


Todd Sebek, Seth Hammock, Ryan Trevino, and Nick Zaleski each had two hits.


Zach Neal pitched the first four innings. Dallas Gallant (9-3), who pitched a complete game in Sam Houston’s opening round victory over Northwestern State Thursday, picked up the victory Saturday with two innings relief work. Zac Baker finished the game.


Lamar (35-23) totaled 15 hits. Starter Tim Erickson (8-3), the 2008 Southland Conference “Pitcher of the Year”  took the loss, giving up eight runs and eight hits in four innings.


Other members of the 2008 Southland All-Tournament Team were catcher Ben Theriot of Texas State, first baseman Trent Lockwood of UTSA, second baseman Brian Taylor of Lamar, third baseman Seth Hammock of Sam Houston, shortstop Ryan Weber of Sam Houston, outfielders Keith Stein of Sam Houston, Chase Williams of Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, and David Moore of Lamar, and pitchers Brian Sisk of Lamar and Dallas Gallant of Sam Houston.


Sam Houston swept through the tournament unbeaten in four games for the second year in  a row, outscoring the competition 42-15.