Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
Allysa Dooley places 14th at Southland
Courtesy: GoBearkats.com
Release: 10/31/2011
Files available
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Alyssa Dooley finished 14th at the 2011 Southland Conference women's cross country championship Monday morning, posting the highest individual finish by a Sam Houston State competitor in the meet since 2004.

The meet was hosted by Stephen F. Austin at Piney Woods Country Club in Nacogdoches.

The junior from Flower Mound Marcus ran 6,000 meter course in 22 minutes and six seconds. The last time a Bearkat women placed in the top 20 in the Southland cross country championship was in 2004 when Erika Wright and Amy Snodgrass finished 12th and 13th, respectively.

The Bearkats placed 10th in the team standings with 241 points.

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi won the team championship with 65 points. UTSA was the runner-up with 70, followed by Lamar 92, Texas State 115, UT-Arlington 123, Stephen F. Austin 156, McNeese State 164, Nicholls State 206, Central Arkansas 232, Sam Houston 241 and Southeastern Louisiana and Northwestern State both with 308 points.

Other Sam Houston times and finishes included Sara Collazos 39th (23:19), Victoria Gemey 56th (23:59), Nidia Romero 64th (24:22), Haleigh Ceballos 68th (24:35) and Sarah Pena 73rd (24:54).

Lauren Smith of Stephen F. Austin won the individual women's championship with a time of 20:57.

DVD Store
More On GoBears.com
Nicole Aponte has come back from challenges to help Kats win titles
Top student-athletes for 2013-14 named
Garrett Larson
Position: Pole Vault
Class: Junior
Presented by Villas on Sycamore
What is your favorite concessions snack at basketball games in Johnson Coliseum?
Hot Dog
Presented by State Farm
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?
Did you know?