"We always look forward to this event, not only because it's our home tournament, but because it always has a challenging field," said head coach Brad Hagen. "It's good for us to get out early in the year and test ourselves against some of the top teams in the country."

The field includes six of the top 10 teams in the preseason NTCA top 25 poll, including last season's Kat Klash champion, McKendree.

The Field


No. 2 McKendree

No. 3 Stephen F. Austin

No. 4 Nebraska

No. 5 Sam Houston State

No. 6 Arkansas State

No. 8 North Carolina A&T

No. 14 Tulane 

No. 17 Louisiana Tech

No. 20 Duquesne

No. 23 Youngstown State

Alabama State

Jackson State

Prairie View A&M


Texas Southern

Upper Iowa

The Format:

9:55 - 3:45 Friday – Five Baker games, Total pins

9:30 - 3:30 Saturday – Five person team games

8:20 - 1:30 Sunday – Baker Match Play, best-of-7




Live streaming will be available all weekend, with Lanes 11-12 serving as the featured pair. 


Day 1



Day 2



Day 3




The History

This is the ninth year of the Kat Klash. The first two years were held at Huntsville Lanes. Year three was held at Palace Lanes in Houston. This will be the sixth year at Emerald Lanes.

The Kats were the winners of the first two events. In 2013 Arkansas State took the team title while Nebraska won back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015. Sam Houston won in 2016 and Nebraska won in 2017. In last season’s event McKendree won their first Kat Klash title.

The Venue

Emerald Bowl has been home to some significant events in NCAA history. The very first women’s bowling championships in 2004 was played there, where Nebraska beat Central Missouri. In 2006 the championships returned to Emerald Bowl when Fairleigh Dickenson defeated Alabama A&M.