HUNTSVILLE – With the 2018 Sam Houston State Football season done, the Bearkats are continuing to bring in a litany of postseason honors, led by senior defensive end Derick Roberson.


Roberson, a first team all-Southland Conference selection and a finalist for the Buck Buchanan Award given out to the top defensive player in all of FCS, has already garnered nods on four all-America teams. Meanwhile, sophomores Zyon McCollum and Kyran Jackson, along with redshirt freshman quarterback Ty Brock, have each earned postseason honors from HERO Sports.


Roberson was one of the top forces in the league throughout 2018. The senior defensive end totaled 68 tackles and 20.5 tackles for loss, including 15.0 sacks which tied an SHSU single-season school record and is tied for the most sacks in all of FCS. 


He also ranked second in FCS with five forced fumbles, along with a blocked kick, safety and two official pass breakups. He had just one sack through the first three games of the year, but then took off with 11.5 sacks over his next five games, including 3.0 sacks each in wins over Stephen F. Austin and Northwestern State.


He will go to Frisco, Texas on January 4 as one of the top three vote-getters for the Buck Buchanan Award. The award, given out by STATS FCS, will be awarded at the annual STATS FCS Awards Banquet.


A full listing of Bearkat postseason honors is listed below:


Derick Roberson | SR | DE | San Antonio, Texas | Brennan HS | Texas
- Buck Buchanan Award Finalist
- AP All-America First Team
- STATS FCS All-America First Team
- HERO Sports All-America First Team
- Walter Camp All-America Team

- FCS ADA All-America Team
- AFCA All-America First Team


Zyon McCollum | SOPH | DB | Galveston, Texas | Ball HS
- HERO Sports Sophomore All-America First Team


Kyran Jackson | SOPH | RB | Fort Worth, Texas | South Hills HS
- HERO Sports Sophomore All-America Honorable Mention


Ty Brock | R-FR | QB | College Station, Texas | College Station HS
- HERO Sports Sophomore All-America Honorable Mention