CLEVELAND, Ohio – The Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), in coordination with the 13 FCS conference offices, announced the 2017 FCS ADA All-America team on Thursday with Sam Houston State quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe being selected to the team.

With his selection to the 11-member squad, he is eligible to be selected as the national Offensive Player of the Year, an award which will be announced at a later date and recognized at the FCS Championship Game in Frisco on January 6 during an on-field presentation. Of the 11 student-athletes, nine participated in the 2017 NCAA Division I Football Championship.

It is the second straight year for Briscoe to be named to the team after earning the honor in 2016. He is also a top-three finalist for the Walter Payton Award, an honor to be handed out on January 5 prior to the FCS Championship game. Briscoe won the honor a year ago and is seeking to become just the second player in FCS history, along with Appalachian State’s Armanti Edwards (2008 and 2009) to win the award.

During that 2016 campaign he set an FCS record with 57 touchdown passes and has put up gaudy numbers once again in 2017. The trigger man for the top offense in the FCS has thrown for a SHSU single-season record 4,714 yards and with 286 more yards this year would become the first Bearkat in history to put together a 5,000-yard season.

He leads the nation in total passing yards and passing yards per game, and his 44 touchdown passes once again leads the nation and will have him finish as the first FCS quarterback since Eastern Washington’s Bo Levi Mitchell to lead the nation in touchdown passes in consecutive seasons.

Briscoe and the rest of the Bearkats will be looking to punch their own ticket to Frisco on Friday night when they take on North Dakota State in the FCS semifinals. Kickoff is set for 7:00 p.m. and will be aired nationally on ESPN2.

2017 FCS ADA All-America Team
QB Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State (Southland)
RB Dominick Bragalone, Lehigh (Patriot)
WR Keelan Doss, UC Davis (Big Sky)
TE Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State (MVFC)
OL Austin Kuhnert, North Dakota State (MVFC)
PK Lorran Fonseca, Nicholls (Southland)
DL Andrew Ankrah, James Madison (CAA Football)
LB Brett Taylor, Western Illinois (MVFC)
DB Mike Basile, Monmouth (Big South)
RS Rashid Shaheed, Weber State (Big Sky)
P Joe Zema, Incarnate Word (Southland)