CLEVELAND, Ohio - The Division I Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA), in coordination with the 13 FCS conference offices, has announced Sam Houston State quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe being named its 2017 Offensive Player of the Year.  

Briscoe is the first Bearkat to earn the FCS ADA Offensive Player of the Year honor, while FCS ADA Defensive Player of the Year honors went to James Madison University's defensive lineman Andrew Ankrah. Respectively, each is a finalist for the STATS Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Award (Payton and Buchanan Awards), which will be announced on Friday, Jan. 5.  

The players will be recognized on Saturday (Jan. 6) at the 2017 NCAA Division I Football Championship with a plaque. Briscoe is the consensus all-America quarterback and won the Payton Award a year ago. He is seeking to become just the second FCS player in history to win it multiple times, joining Appalachian State’s Armanti Edwards.

He led FCS and set a SHSU single-season record with 5,003 yards passing in 2017, while also leading the country for the second consecutive season with 45 touchdown passes. The Bearkat trigger man is the first Kat to throw for 5,000 yards in a season and threw for at least 300 yards in 11 of Sam Houston’s 14 games.

Briscoe led the Kats to a 12-2 record and the semifinals of the FCS playoffs for the third time in four years this season, helping the Sam Houston offense become the first FCS school to lead the nation in total offense in three consecutive years since Portland State did so from 1978-80, the first three years following the split of Division I into I-A and I-AA.

He exits Sam Houston as the school’s all-time leader in total yards passing, total offense and touchdown passes while also holding the single-season records in each of those categories. This Friday, Jan. 5, the FCS ADA will announce the Academic All-Stars Team, which is celebrating its 20th year.   Now in its 24th year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association's mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit

The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 53rd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit