After sweeping the men’s and women’s indoor track and field titles in Birmingham, Ala. last week, the Sam Houston squad is collecting some individual awards as well.

Headlined by Tyler Adams, who was named men’s Outstanding Field Events Performer and Men’s Athlete of the Year, the Kats are bringing home five individual awards, announced by the Southland Conference office on Thursday.

Head coach Dave Self was named Coach of the Year on both the men’s and women’s side and Zach Johnson was named the Men’s Freshman of the Year.

“The coach award is just a reflection of the performance of our two teams and my staff. I’m especially proud of both Tyler and Zach to be recognized individually for what they have done this season,” Self said. “Tyler had a phenomenal two days and has been tremendous for us for a long time. With Zach, I think we are seeing what he is capable of. Any time a freshman steps up during a championship event says a lot about the type of competitor they are.”

Adams scored a conference-record 34 points to the Bearkats’ 128 total points, leaving with three gold medals after also claiming the high jump and long jump on Wednesday. He smashed the old conference record of 27 points set in 1994 and is the third Bearkat to claim the honor as the men’s high-point scorer and the first since Courtney Boston did so with 20.5 points in the 2004 indoor meet.

Johnson more than did his part for the Kats, scoring points in the triple jump, the long jump and 60 meter hurdles. He took the silver medal in the triple, J finished 6th in the long jump  and 8th in the 60-meter hurdles. He scored 12 total points in his three events.  

For Self, this is the seventh and eighth times he has been recognized as coach of the year, including three straight on both the men’s and women’s side. Self was also named coach of the year in 2014 for the women. In 2008 he was the first assistant coach to be named coach of the year in Southland history.

2018 Southland Conference Indoor Individual Awards

Men’s Outstanding Field Events Performer – Tyler Adams, SHSU

Men’s Outstanding Running Events Performer – Jamie Crowe, LU

Men’s Freshman of the Year – Zach Johnson, SHSU

Men’s Newcomer of the Year – Jamie Crowe, LU

Men’s Athlete of the Year – Tyler Adams, SHSU

Men’s Coach of the Year – Dave Self, SHSU


Women’s Outstanding Field Events Performer – Sarea Alexander, UIW

Women’s Outstanding Running Events Performer – Rabea Schoneborn, AMCC

Women’s Freshman of the Year – Kelsey Ramirez, SFA

Women’s Newcomer of the Year – Rabea Schoneborn, AMCC

Women’s Athlete of the Year – Thai Williams, LU

Women’s Coach of the Year – Dave Self, SHSU