Courtesy: Southland Conference

 – The first look at the 2018-19 men’s and women’s seasons will take place during Southland Conference Basketball Social Media Day at the Toyota Center in downtown Houston on Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2018, from 9 a.m.-2:30 p.m. CDT.


Media are encouraged to attend the event in person, which will include participation from all 26 Southland head basketball coaches -- 13 women’s and 13 men’s. Attendees should enter the Toyota Center at the Administrative entrance near the intersection of Clay Street and La Branch Street. No RSVP is necessary for media.


Activities for the day include:

- Media availability for each coach, including time for one-on-one interviews.

- Southland television broadcasters Carley McCord and Lincoln Rose sitting down for Q&As with each coach in the Houston Rockets’ visitors’ locker room. It is part of a comprehensive preview of each team for a show that will stream on an ESPN platform at 6 p.m. It will be available on-demand immediately following its initial showing.

- All 26 coaches participating in social media activities, which fans can follow on the Southland Conference Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.

- Social media sessions will be followed by interview sessions with each coach.

The day will begin with opening comments from Southland Conference Commissioner Tom Burnett, now enjoying his second year as a member of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Committee.


Results of the predicted order of finish polling for the conference will be unveiled during the event.


In addition to the initial Oct. 10 airing at 6 p.m. on ESPN3, archived video of each coach’s comments and select quotes from each attendee will be available after the conclusion of the event.


Both the men and women begin their seasons on Nov. 6, while conference action first tips on Dec. 28.


Basketball Media Event Lineup

Wednesday, Oct. 10 – Toyota Center, Houston

(All times Central)


9:00       Opening remarks – Southland Commissioner Tom Burnett

9:15       Stephen F. Austin

9:40       Abilene Christian

10:05     Northwestern State

10:30     Southeastern Louisiana

10:55     Nicholls

11:20     New Orleans

11:45     Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

12:10     Central Arkansas

12:35     Houston Baptist

1:00       Sam Houston State

1:25       Lamar

1:50       McNeese            

2:15       UIW